Tarumanagara Kingdom

Tarumanagara Kingdom

The word Tarumanagara comes from the words Taruma and Negara.  Negara means kingdom or country, and Taruma, derived from Tarum, represents the river of Citarum and the color indigo.  In the Sudanese tradition, the dye extracted from the tarum leaf is indigo in color.

Engraved Stone

The Earliest Kingdom

The earliest recorded kingdom of Indonesia is the Tarumanagara Kingdom. The Sudanese Kingdom, influenced by Indian culture and Hinduism, was the most influential in the region. Modern Bogor represented the hub of the kingdom. The boundaries of the Kingdom were the Java Sea to the North, the Sunda Strait to the West, and the Cipamali river to the East. This river divides the areas of Sunda and Java.

Engraved Stone

First Known Ruler

Rajadirajaguru Jayasingawarman founded the Tarumanagara Kingdom in 358 AD, according to the inscriptions. Five of these stones discovered in the Bogor area.   The sixth stone was located in Jakarta and the seventh in Lebak Banten. These engraved stones called Prasasti, showcase Pallava letters and Sanskrit.  Each stone has a name: Kebon Kopi, Tugu, Cidanghiyang or Munjul, Ciaruteun, Muara Cianten, Jumbu, and Pasir Awi.

Eventually, Tarumanagara Kingdom divided into the kingdoms of Sunda and Galuh in 670 AD.  The Citarum River divided these two kingdoms. The Galuh Kingdom covered central Java and the Sunda Kingdom lay to the west of it.

Sunda and Galuh

List of 12 Rulers of Tarumanagara Kingdom

Jayasingawarman 358-382

Dharmayawarman 382-395

Prunawarman 395-434

Wisnuwarman 434-455

Indrawarman 455-515

Candrawarman 515-535

Suryawarman 535-561

Kertawarman 561-628

Sudhawarman 628-639

Hariwangsawarman 639-640

Nagajayawarman 640-666

Linggawarman 666-669

Tarusbawa 670-690

Comments are closed.